photography.running.adventures

2×2 Rubik’s Cube Last Layer Algorithms


People still it find amazing that I can solve a regular 2x2x2 Rubik’s Cube in just around 8-10 seconds on a good day. Since I rarely practice at all, I must say that it’s a pretty good average for me considering the very primitive method I use for solving this puzzle. I bet I could make it at 6 seconds if I just practice for 2 days. Yes! It’s that easy!


Why did you say that the method you use is primitive?

Not exactly. I’m currently using the Fridrich Method for solving the Pocket Cube, and there are much faster methods you can use such as the Guimond and Ortega Method. It’s just that you might need to learn additional algorithms other than your usual Fridrich Algs.

Then why are you using this method if there are other faster ones?

Of course, I eventually want to learn these faster methods but since I’m not planning to play competitively any time soon, the Fridrich Method is enough for me. (And I don’t have to learn extra algorithms! =P )

How do I solve the 2×2 then?

Just like your usual Fridrich Method, start solving one side of your cube. For this step, I either do the White or Yellow side.  (I will not put much detail into this step since it’s either pretty much intuitive, you have already learned it from solving the 3×3 and you can also search it on YouTube.) Next, ORIENT the top face of your cube in to a single color. I noted 7 algorithms I use for this step below. (If you solved the White side first, the Top Face should be all Yellow stickers.) And lastly, PERMUTE a.k.a. arrange the Top Layer into their proper faces. There are just 2 basic algorithms for this case.

Don’t mind the names, I made most of them all up! (They won’t matter in the actual solve anyway.) And yes, there are much faster algorithms you can use using the Fridrich Method. However, notice the algs I used in the Headlights-Racecar-Superman Cases? I abused the very fast RUR’U’ trigger in this cases. (And the 3×3 algs for this case are somewhat awkward to execute in this case.) Cool huh?

(UPDATE Aug.12,2009: You can also use this shorter and easier algorithm for the Superman OLL: R2 U2 R U2 R2. Much, much quicker!)

Can I print it out?

Sure! Why not? Print it out, photocopy it, share it with your friends! Just don’t pass it off as your own and I’ll be really pissed. Just kidding!

Where did you get this?

I learned most of this stuff from BADMEPHISTO in YouTube from his tutorials over the months. He is the best teacher in YouTube in my opinion and you can also check out his website for more details.

Can you teach me?

No. There are tons of resources all over the world wide web regarding solving methods and tutorials and I sincerely feel that I can’t do better. Badmephisto’s tuts should be enough, I think. ^_^

You rock!

I know. LOL! =P

PBA09244o103

Bookmark and Share

9 responses

  1. victor

    what do the brackets mean around the algorithms?

    September 9, 2009 at 7:23 PM

    • The brackets like () and [] just mean that it is a ‘trigger’. A trigger is a set of moves that you can execute in one fluid move much like a finger trick. Example: the famous (R U R’ U’) trigger

      Or for simplicity, you can just ignore them. ^_^

      September 9, 2009 at 8:28 PM

  2. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..

    -Bill-Bartmann

    September 23, 2009 at 12:46 AM

  3. Pingback: 2×2 « A Weekend Husband's Blog

  4. Hayley Michelle Josiah

    Hey, your site is great man. But for some reason, none of the algorithms worked for me. These factors may have affected it…
    – Which face I hold it @ & which face should be facing me
    – Or maybe I am just doing the algorithms wrong… R’ means Right Inverted Correct? Which means I turn it Counter-Clockwise am I right?

    June 28, 2010 at 1:50 AM

    • Hmmm… The algorithms I posted here should be viewed from the top. I used the yellow sticker-ed side for my illustrations because cubers usually finished this side last.

      As for the moves, when you say R, you should look at the “right face” of your cube and turn it clockwise once.

      You can also watch this video on YouTube by badmephisto if your still having difficulty regarding notation. Cheers!

      June 28, 2010 at 11:18 PM

  5. brucexy

    this site helped me alot!
    now i could do the cube less than 10 second!(sometimes!)

    July 13, 2010 at 3:09 PM

    • Wow! Glad this (slightly) inactive site of mine helped you.

      Keep it up!

      July 13, 2010 at 10:37 PM

  6. Edwin

    for the superman thing you can just do R2 U2 R U2 R2

    May 2, 2014 at 1:51 PM

Leave a comment