photography.running.adventures

Make a DIY Cube Box!


More than six months ago, I have looking for mini-bags or containers where I can store my cubes whenever I travel. Of course, you can just simply pop it in your bag and don’t care at all. However, after a few adventures, I noticed that the stickers were either peeling more easily, are unusually stained and the cube becomes rough because of dirt penetrating the core.

Since then, I became more determined in housing my poor cubes. Unfortunately, there was very little chance that I could find one that fit my specifications. (Maybe if I fashion one myself!) I wanted something that could fit one Rubik’s Cube snuggly, would be resistant enough to dirt and should be quite sturdy as well.

Image from forum member ch_ts.

Image from forum member ch_ts.

By sheer luck, I was able to find the link again and did I mention that it just requires very little skill in making one?

You just need:

  • cardboard paper
  • a printer
  • a pair of scissors
  • dextrous fingers!

That’s it! However, my PC got reformatted one too many and I lost the link forever… But do not despair! CUBERT from speedsolving.com, posted a new link to this amazingly simple solution to my cubing dilemma.

Here’s how:

  1. Just click this link.
  2. Print out the outline. (Make sure that the “Print Scaling” is set to “None.” It means that you shouldn’t resize the image.)
  3. Using a hobby knife or plain scissors, carefully cut out the pattern.
  4. Fold along the dotted lines and assemble the paper cube accordingly.
  5. There you go!

This fits most standard-sized 3×3 Rubik’s Cube even if it has tiled stickers. It’s very easy and hassle-free so try it out!

Bookmark and Share

One response

  1. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Susan

    September 12, 2009 at 2:29 PM

Leave a Reply

