photography.running.adventures

One Year of Cubing: the Anniversary Post


Whew! I can’t believe that it has been a year already since I solved my very first Rubik’s Cube! It was a crazy but fun journey whenever I look back at my good ol’ speedcubing days. I met a few speedcubers, travelled several dozen miles to get or sell the hottest puzzles and impressed a couple of girls along the way.  It was also the very same passion that sparked the creation of this blog site, the lame videos on my YouTube Channel, and prompted me to do a demo on a friends birthday party and several more embarrassing situations I’d rather charge to experience a.k.a. forget.

I love lists and I know you love ’em too! So here are some interesting trivia after 12 months of speedcubing:

  • 16 – the number of Standard 3×3’s I currently have, not counting the ones I gave away.
  • 77– video tutorials from speecubers around the world. From Nakajima, Badmephisto and Erik Akkerdjik, I got them all here.
  • 19.93 seconds– the fastest I’ve ever recorded for the 3×3.
  • around 30+ seconds – my current estimated solve time. Could be worse!
  • Eight– the number of people I taught how to cube: Marvin (42.5 sec.) , Charm (1:12:35) , and RJ (1:15:46)were the fastest.
  • 3– the number of 2×2 cubes in my collection, not including the mini-siamese cubes I got from my friend from the Middle East.
  • Zero – out of the three possible competitions I could’ve possible joined. Don’t ask.

Right before I wrote this post, I started rummaging through my old files because I can still distinctly remember having  a mugshot of this momentous occasion. After going through about 3 or 4 PC reformatting sessions and the deletion of my phone memory, I’d never thought I’d still find one and here it is:

One down. A couple thousand solves to go...

One down. A couple thousand solves to go...

I couldn’t find the one where I was looking very  silly,holding the cube in front of my face. (I was actually glad I didn’t find it!) What I don’t remember was how did I ever get to be relatively faster than everyone else. I still know why I started cubing: to beat the boredom of reading a few hundred pages of nursing stuff. What I’m trying to get here is why I continued though the exam was over.

I’m still scratching my head over this and most people wouldn’t care. But it really means a lot to me. It’s like how a world class BMX rider tries to think back what motivated him to become the champion he is today. Of course, he’d never forget the first time he rode a bike but would he remember when he actually focused and aimed to become the best? Or it is just his nature to excel?

Most people don’t know this but out of all the people who actually asked me to teach them how to solve (including the links, cheat sheets, my finger tricks, gave away some cubes, etc.) the Rubik’s Cube, none of them even made it below 40 seconds. 1 out of 8 made it below a minute and only two solves it in around a minute.

Nobody thought me these stuff. I literally had to sort out the bad tutorials on the Internet and it was no easy task. No one told me how to memorize more than a few dozen algorithms and it was all me. Or maybe that’s the reason why, I am what I am today…

6 responses

  1. mj

    You’ve gone a long way rai.. congratulations and good luck on the coming year… new year? hehehe..

    August 24, 2009 at 8:28 AM

    • Thanks… yeah, I need all the luck I could get. I still couldn’t find work till now. (Sigh.)

      August 24, 2009 at 3:40 PM

  2. mj

    weird…ayan na naman ung algae-amoeba-bat avatar..huhu

    August 24, 2009 at 8:29 AM

    • ahaha! yaan mo na! na-miss ka na siguro…

      August 24, 2009 at 3:40 PM

  3. mj

    bout my blog i deleted it for the same reason as before. i miss it😦 namimiss ko rin mga naging kakilala ko through it haaaaay…😦 tapos kumusta nama yung laptop ko ayaw na mag-open hanggang dun nalang sa microsoft windows na bar. ipapaayos ko pa di ko alam kelan maaayos haaay…anyways…makakahanap ka rin work..darating at darating yan..okidowks… ingatz palagi…🙂

    August 27, 2009 at 8:50 PM

    • oo nga e. sana makapasok na ako ulit… bawal na yata mga gwapo sa inaapplayan ko e! lol!

      paayos mo na yung lappy mo and sayang din kasi yung site mo… napapansin ko pa naman yung improvement mo sa pagsusulat. ^_^

      facebook na lang muna tayo for the meantime.

      take care!

      August 27, 2009 at 10:11 PM

Leave a Reply

