photography.running.adventures

In Memoriam: Willie Tirol


Before going to Baguio, (refer to previous post) we went to visit my late uncle Willie Tirol in Pangasinan. He was a respected seaman, friend,  a very laid-back guy, a beloved brother to his siblings, and a caring father to his two daughters. He passed away in a tragic gas leak , during maintenance, docked at the port of Los Angeles in September 2005.

According to the New York Times:

Three crew members, Boris Dimitrov of Bulgaria; Willie Tirol of The Philippines and Radomilja Frane of Croatia, were killed and 19 others were injured. Reports said that the deaths were almost instantaneous as the crew members were not wearing breathing apparatus at the time.

Four years has passed since that tragic day and I haven’t been to his grave all those years. This time, I will do my best to make up for this lost time by honoring him in this post. Though nothing much will change, I will still try to make you see what I see through the lens of my camera.

May this tree shelter you forever.

May this tree shelter you forever.

You will always be remembered.

You will always be remembered.

Mom really misses you.

Mom really misses you.

It was very hard for us to let go.

It was very hard for us to let go.

For those who are interested in the location of his remains, he is  now resting at the Heaven’s Gate Memorial Park in Asingan, Pangasinan. The tombstone can easily be found near the edge of the road, on the left side, just before the rotonda. Please inform us if you will be visiting him there, so we can accompany you, if time permits.


Top Blogs

Bookmark and Share

9 responses

  1. n1qabi

    wow……

    hehehe un lang nasabi ko e no?

    Rai, mj to. shhhh..anonymous ako ha hahahah i put up a new blog..inadd kita sa blogroll..

    ahaha i forgot.. nag iisa ka pa lang pala sa blogroll ko..

    June 2, 2009 at 7:22 AM

  2. n1qabi

    ay! dalawa pala new blog ko.. o adik diba?

    I will just compare which is better..

    and later on I will decide which one I’m gonna pursue..

    haaay sana maging maganda rin ung blog ko like you..

    June 2, 2009 at 7:23 AM

  3. n1qabi

    ay ano ba yan nakalimutan ko pa…ung isa nga pala nasa blogspot.

    its: anamamarida.blogspot.com

    ana mamarida means I am a nurse😀

    o dba may natutunan na pala akong arabic..

    hahaha.. tc parati..

    June 2, 2009 at 7:25 AM

  4. Having known Uncle Totoy inspired me to lead a life of kindness. He showed me that we may live a life of riches, splendor and grandeur, but in the end, we will only be remembered by the kindness that we had given (or lack thereof) to those that we have left behind.

    June 2, 2009 at 1:24 PM

  5. I checked out your site from the blogger awards and liked it. I voted for you. I hope you win.

    Please check out my site nominated for the best blog design. http://bloggerschoiceawards.com/blogs/show/73022. I hope you will vote for me also. Thanks!

    June 3, 2009 at 3:49 AM

    • Sure! Thanks!

      June 3, 2009 at 11:50 AM

  6. n1qabi

    RAI

    June 4, 2009 at 8:55 AM

  7. n1qabi

    rAi, I voted for you in all 3 categories!,…hehehe lam mo namang fan mo ko.. Gud luck!..

    June 4, 2009 at 8:56 AM

    • thanks! thanks!

      June 4, 2009 at 1:50 PM

Leave a Reply

