photography.running.adventures

I Dreamed A Dream


This is the lyrics of the song sung by now world famous Susan Boyle, at the first episode for this year’s Britain’s Got Talent show. Enjoy!

There was a time, when men were kind

And their voices were soft

And their words were inviting

There was a time, when love was blind

And the world was a song

And the song was exciting

There was a time it all went wrong

I dreamed a dream in time gone by

When hope was high and life worth living

I dreamed that love would never die

I dreamed that God would be forgiving

Then I was young and unafraid

And dreams were made and used and wasted

There was no ransom to be paid

No song unsung, no wine untasted

But the tigers come at night

With their voices soft as thunder

As they turn your hope apart

As they turn your dreams to shame

He slept a summer by my side

He filled my dreams with endless wonder

He took my childhood in his stride

But he was gone when autumn came

And still I dream he’d come to me

That we would live the years together

But there are dreams that cannot be

And there are storms we cannot weather

I had a dream my life would be

So different from the hell I’m living

So different now from what it seemed

Now life has killed the dream I dreamed.

More info about this song courtesy of Wikipedia:

I Dreamed a Dream” is a solo sung by Fantine during the first act.

Most of the music is soft and melancholy, but towards the end becomes louder and taut with frustration and anguish; as she cries aloud about the wretched state of her life and her unfair mistreatment.

Overview

The lyrics are about lost innocence and broken dreams. Fantine is abandoned by her lover, gives birth to a daughter, Cosette, out of wedlock, is wrongly dismissed from a desperately-needed job, and forced into prostitution to survive and to support her daughter. It is sung directly after “At the End of the Day”.

Relation to “On My Own”

Both the plot and music to “I Dreamed a Dream” bear a close resemblance to “On My Own“, a solo sung by Éponine in Act II of the play. The two can in many ways be considered reprises of each other.

Some notable relations include:

  • “I Dreamed a Dream” starts in Eb Major, then E Minor, then F Major – “On My Own” starts in D Major, moving to Bb Major, and ending in F Major.
  • “I Dreamed a Dream,” outlines unfairness and woe in Fantine’s life, the second half dedicated to her former male partner, who deserted her after the conception of Cosette. In “On My Own,” Éponine outlines her desire to be with the character Marius, and (similarly to Fantine), dreams and imagines him by her side.
  • Near the one-minute mark (slightly after in “I Dreamed a Dream”), the final key signature change is made and the music and singing grows louder and more intense, as is done in On My Own.
  • When Éponine sings her solo, it is the same tune as “Come to Me” also sung by Fantine.
  • Similarly, the duet between Cosette and Marius in “One Day More” is the same tune as Fantine’s “I Dreamed a Dream”, though higher/lower in pitch and accented differently: their words are of happiness, a great contrast to Éponine and Fantine.
French Versions
  • 1980 Original French Version – This song is known as J’avais rêvé d’une autre vie (I Dreamed of Another Life).
  • 1991 Parisian Revival Version – This song is known as J’avais rêvé (I Dreamed).

Susan Boyle TRIVIA!

Before going on stage, Ms. Boyle admitted some self-deprecating facts about herself :

she’s never been kissed and lives alone with her cat, Pebbles!

BONUS!

Piers Morgan, (One of the host’s of the show, Britain’s Got Talent) even wrote an article about this amazing singer! Read it here!

Watch her sing here.


Dreamed a dream? Vote!
Top Blogs

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

