photography.running.adventures

An Earth Conscious Me


I went to Makati City again to get my pay for a side job for a Marketing- Research firm just after I sent a package of Super Pycno (Pycnogenol) to a new client in Laguna. Of course, I always cube inside the MRT and curious looks from nearby passengers did not escape me. (I was wearing dark shades.)  The yuppie looking guy from my left asked me immediately what was my average time in seconds. I was quite surprised and I actually thought about it for a few moments thinking that it was actually quite awhile since I recorded my solve times. I just told him, “around 26 seconds.” He laughed and said, “Hey, you’re really fast!” (He said that in English.) I just smiled and continued solving. He later left and the guy who replaced him quickly asked me as well. He wanted to know if “we” used a different method of solving the cube then he described how he solved it. Apparently, he was using the layer-by-layer beginner’s method and he admitted that it took him a while before he could solve it. I reluctantly showed him how (though more people are obviously listening to our conversation) the basic Fridrich Method works and I think he was glad that told him. The guy standing in front of me, a middle-aged kinda-chubby looking man, asked me if it could be learned by a kid. The guy beside me excitedly said, “Yes!” saving me the effort of saying so. I just added, “I even know a 6-year-old” who could do it. He just nodded. Then he asked if repetitive use of algorithms would affect the creativity of a kid. (Maybe he was interested in making his kid learn it.) I just told him that after learning algs, you can learn one-handed solves, other puzzles and even blindfold-solving. I added that cubing doesn’t develop creativity that much, though it helps in developing psycho-motor skills, hand and eye coordination, logic, problem-solving, and coordination. He agreed and just smiled.

After getting the check, I wasn’t able to get it encashed though since it was already past 4 PM. (Bank closes at 3.) I immediately went home, dreading the thought of squeezing myself in very crowded public transportation. I had to pass the Glorietta Mall along the way and a huge banner on the middle of the mall greeted me. It says that they (Ayala Malls) support the Earth Hour organization, prompting the less use of energy (they can’t totally turn it off of course.) by turning off some lights around the building. The scheduled power outage is scheduled on March 28, 8:30-9:30pm. This temporary loss of power is said to reduce the impact of too much energy use on our planet, thus leading to a greener more healthier Earth. (I also saw this ad on the National Geographic Channel.) Since I wanted to share this amazing initiative by the WWF, here’s what they had to say on their website, EarthHour.com:

This year, Earth Hour has been transformed into the world’s first global election, between Earth and global warming.

For the first time in history, people of all ages, nationalities, race and background have the opportunity to use their light switch as their vote – Switching off your lights is a vote for Earth, or leaving them on is a vote for global warming. WWF are urging the world to VOTE EARTH and reach the target of 1 billion votes, which will be presented to world leaders at the Global Climate Change Conference in Copenhagen 2009.

This meeting will determine official government policies to take action against global warming, which will replace the Kyoto Protocol. It is the chance for the people of the world to make their voice heard.

Earth Hour began in Sydney in 2007, when 2.2 million homes and businesses switched off their lights for one hour. In 2008 the message had grown into a global sustainability movement, with 50 million people switching off their lights. Global landmarks such as the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco, Rome’s Colosseum, the Sydney Opera House and the Coca Cola billboard in Times Square all stood in darkness.

In 2009, Earth Hour is being taken to the next level, with the goal of 1 billion people switching off their lights as part of a global vote. Unlike any election in history, it is not about what country you’re from, but instead, what planet you’re from. VOTE EARTH is a global call to action for every individual, every business, and every community. A call to stand up and take control over the future of our planet. Over 74 countries and territories have pledged their support to VOTE EARTH during Earth Hour 2009, and this number is growing everyday.

We all have a vote, and every single vote counts. Together we can take control of the future of our planet, for future generations.

VOTE EARTH by simply switching off your lights for one hour, and join the world for Earth Hour.

Saturday, March 28, 8:30-9:30pm.

So do your part! Participate and register on their website and help Mother Earth reduce the impact of Global Warming. Go Planet!


Don’t forget to vote for this post!
Top Blogs

Leave a Reply

