photography.running.adventures

cube review: white DIY type D cube


This cube was also available at the time I bought the blue DIY mentioned in the previous post. But sadly, I’m not an avid user of a white cube so I opted for the blue one instead. (Check out the previous post.) I was into making my own shirt designs a few months ago, also right around December when I went to a hobby shop that sells mostly cheap DIY materials and I was surprised to see a stack of about five white cubes in a corner. I as curious to see what type of cube it was since most cubes come from China and it doesn’t look cheap.  It also had a clear plastic packaging with a serial code (?) starting with a Y followed by four digits. (Yuga cubes are usually packaged this way.) It was already assembled, thus, it was not a true DIY. But nonetheless, you can pop the center caps and adjust the tension to suit your cubing style.

I didn’t replace the original stickers as you can see in the photo and compared to the blue one, (the stickers) was slightly smaller.  It originally had a transparent core, but I swapped it with my Black Yuga. (Check out the next post for further details.) I only bought this because it was half the price of the previous one at only fifty bucks! Cheapo! After doing proper set-up, here are the results:

PROS:

  • very smooth and crispy
  • good cutting corner ability
  • a very good speedcube
  • reacts well to Silicone
  • very cheap (Fifty bucks! C’mon!)
  • rarely pops

CONS:

  • cutting corner ability greatly reduced on tight  tension
  • sort of rare nowadays in the Philippines

Over-all Score:

I guess this one had the “good” old core. It doesn’t “loosen/unscrew” like the blue one and it’s very good. Very economical and practical for beginner’s and advanced cubers for its price. And a breath of fresh air for hard-core DianSheng (DS) users. (Unlike the DS, Yuga cubes cut corners better and lock-ups lesser.)

VERDICT:

If you can still find it, buy it. It’s a great addition to your ever growing collection of cubes. Again, if my recognition wasn’t greatly reduced, I would’ve used this one frequently as well. Very nice cube over-all.



Was this post helpful? Then, VOTE!

Top Blogs

2 responses

  1. Great site this iamryanm.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor🙂

    April 6, 2009 at 11:31 AM

  2. rated site this iamryanm.wordpress.com great to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor🙂

    April 11, 2009 at 3:43 PM

Leave a Reply

