photography.running.adventures

I wish I were Superman


I just finished watching a movie on crunchyroll.com entitled “A Man Who Was Superman” starring Korean actress Jeon Ji-hyun. (the Girl from My Sassy Girl) This time, it isn’t your usual romantic comedy where she plays a boyish 20’s something character who bullies guys around. (or does she?) Here’s the film’s synopsis from hancinema.com:

Song Soo-jung is a producer going on her third year at a small company. Her specialty is human interest stories. She is driven to produce these shallow stories for the sake of her ambition of one day becoming Korea’s own Oprah Winfrey. However, she is reaching the end of what’s left of her pride. One day, after months of not getting paid, she leaves her office with the company camera to produce a story on a lion apparently refusing to eat its meal. On her way, however, she comes across a robber, but she is saved somehow by Superman in a Hawaiian shirt. “Superman” claims he’s unable to tap into his supernatural powers as the bad guys have placed kryptonite inside his head. However, he doesn’t let that get in his way from helping others, from saving the world from global warming to saving a lost puppy. Soo-jung can see this will make a good story and, with a little tweaking and a little fabricating, she produces the Superman Saves the World documentary which goes on to be a ratings hit. However, the true story behind this “Superman,” including the bullet and not the kryptonite that is lodged in his brain, helps the frosty, calculating Soo-jung to awaken to what’s truly important in life.

No, I won’t be writing a review about this movie. Instead, I would like to write about how the film made an impact in my life. I warn you, you’re going to see the other side of me.

Yes, as the title implies, I wish I were Superman.

I wish I could fly.

I wish I also had Super Strength.

I wish I could also shoot beams out of my eyes.

I wish I could…

Not because I want to get rich, nor be famous and stuff. I have no intention of wearing a cape and blue tights nor wear his red underpants. He’s not even the smartest tool in the shed, getting smashed face first into a concrete wall, when he could’ve just dodged out of the way using his Super Speed.

He has the potential to become god over man.
He can kill us with just a stare, not even lifting a finger.
He can beat the crap out of Simon Cowell.
He can even start wars if he wanted to.

But he didn’t.

He chose a different path. Not listening to what anyone has to say. Didn’t let anyone hinder his dreams, nor taint his desire to help. Not even a dozen villains could stop him, not even the strongest,biggest, baddest dude in the universe. Everyone recognizes his deeds and rewards his courage. Taking risks no one has even dared to ponder. Nobody challenged him, believing in him all the way. Believing he can do it, and yes, he did it well.

I wish I could become like him.

I wish I were.

I wish I could.

Maybe I am.

Who knows?

Who cares.

I am Superman.

Strength doesn’t open big iron doors, but a small key.

Top Blogs

One response

  1. Pingback: i wish i were Superman | 21-AG News Blog

Leave a Reply

